Mr. Anthony Ariganello Appointed as Independent Chair of Re:Sound’s Board of Directors


Re:Sound, Canada’s not-for-profit music licensing company representing artists and record labels for their performance rights, is pleased to announce the election of Mr. Anthony Ariganello to the position of Chairperson of the Board of Directors.

Building on the legacy of the previous chair (Peter Steinmetz), Mr. Ariganello brings decades of experience in financial and human resource management to this position. His demonstrated strengths and accomplishments in strategic business management, business development, operational streamlining, and improving competitive performance will strengthen Re:Sound’s position as a leader in the global music industry.

Mr. Ariganello’s extensive board experience includes: Chairman of the BC Audit Council for Local Government (since 2012) and Board Director for the World Federation of People Management (since 2015). He has previously served as Chair of the Board for the Direct Sellers Association of Canada, and as a member of the Controller General of Canada’s Advisory Panel. He is currently the President & CEO of the Chartered Professionals of Human Resources (CPHR) of B.C. and the Yukon, and CEO of CPHR Canada, and has previously held positions as the President & CEO of the Certified General Accountant’s Association of Canada and Avon Canada Inc.

Mr. Ariganello’s appointment comes after an extensive cross-Canada search, spearheaded by the Chair Selection Committee, with assistance from Governance Solutions Inc. (GSI).  Given Re:Sound’s commitment to innovation in all aspects of what we do, including transparency and governance, Re:Sound specifically sought a chair from outside the music industry who could bring an additional perspective.

“As the complexity of what we do continues to grow, we must always be on the cutting edge of best practices – not only in the music industry, but more broadly as well. The team at Re:Sound is dedicated to doing our absolute best on behalf of music creators and owners,” says Re:Sound President Ian MacKay. “Mr. Ariganello is perfectly placed to lead Re:Sound through our ambitious 2017-19 strategic plan. I would like to thank the Chair Selection Committee and GSI for doing such a fine job.”

Mr. Arigianello will be joining Re:Sound’s existing board members: Annie Morin (ARTISTI), Graham Henderson (CONNECT), Lyette Bouchard (SOPROQ), Stephen Waddell (ACTRA RACS),David Jandrisch (MROC), and Stuart Johnson (CIMA).